WhatsApp wants to put pressure
On its blog, WhatsApp has published a new FAQ in which we can read: “For a short time you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the app”. The app says you won't be able to use all of the features, including the most important ones about messaging.
Of course, WhatsApp is careful not to delete your account. Which would be a shame for the service, which has already seen a real exodus in the direction of Telegram or Signal by its users. But you will understand, for those who would like to continue using WhatsApp while opposing the new policy, this will therefore be impossible.
Second pressure exerted by WhatsApp: a warning for those who would like to delete their account. Kill two birds, WhatsApp says this measure would be irrevocable, in the sense that the application would permanently delete the history of conversations and groups. A way to put pressure, again, while showing a service image capable of permanently deleting data, central point in the quest for digital confidentiality.