Copyright HébergementWebs.com - License GPL

How to empty your Dropbox cache on Windows, macOS and Linux

Computer science   2020-07-12 20:37:28

when you delete sensitive files from your Dropbox account, you may think you have deleted them permanently. However, the files remain in a hidden cache folder on your hard drive for efficiency and emergency purposes which is erased automatically every three days. If you need space, you can manually clear the cache by deleting these files. It savesNot a lot of space permanently, necessarily, but if you delete a fairly large file, it could make a significant difference. How to clear the Dropbox cache on Windows To access the Dropbox cache folder on Windows, press Windows + X on your keyboard to access the Power User Menu and select "Run ". Type (or copy and paste ) the following commandte in the "Open " edit area of ​​the "Run " dialog box and click "OK ". % HOMEPATH% Dropbox. dropbox.cache RELATED: Learn how to safely delete files in Windows Select all files and folders in the "folder. Dropbox .cache "and press the Delete key to delete them. The files are moved to the ctrash, you will have to empty the trash and continue to delete them entirely. NOTE: You can also press "Shift + Delete " to permanently and immediately delete them, bypassing the "Recycle Bin " or delete files safely . RELATED: Correction "File in use " Deletion errors on network drives by disabling Windows Generate vigcrisp You may see the following "File in use " dialog box when trying to delete files from the ". dropbox.cache " folder. On Windows, all folders containing visual media (image files and movies) have a thumbnail database (the file "thumbs.db " ) which provides thumbnail images for the files if you switch to one of the thumbnails available in Windows Explorer. When you open a folder containing the file "thumbs.db, Windows locks this file because it is in use. Therefore, when you delete the contents of the file, Windows informs you that the file "thumbs.db " cannot be deleted because it is in use. It is very good; the rest of your content should be deleted. You can disable Windows thumbnail generation to delete this thumbs.db file if desired. How to clear the cacheDropbox on a Mac The easiest way to clear the Dropbox cache on macOS is to go to the cache folder using the "Go to Finder folder" option. With the Finder open, click Go on the menu bar, then click "Go to folder." Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Command + Shift + G. In any case, a window will appear asking you which folder you want oto work. You want to go to ~ / Dropbox / .dropbox.cache, assuming your Dropbox folder is in the default location. To quickly explain: "~ refers to your personal folder," / Dropbox is your Dropbox folder and "/.dropbox.cache is the hidden folder that Dropbox uses as a cache. Press "Enter " or click "Go " and the cache folder will open. " style = " max- height: 400px; max-width: 99%; "> You can browse this to see which files are currently cached, or delete everything by doing drag all the folders to the Trash folder on your dock. Just like that , your Mac"s Dropbox cache is empty. How to clear the Dropbox cache on Linux To remove items from the Dropbox cache folder on Linux, we Let"s show you how to use Linux Mint. The procedure is pretty much the same in Ubuntu and similar in other Linux distributions. Open your file manager or double-click on the "Home " on the desktop. You must ensure that hidden files are displayed. To do this in Mint, open the "View " menu and make sure there is a check mark in front of the "Show hidden files" option. You can also press Ctrl + H to switch the view of hidden files. Go to your "Dropbox " folder and double-click it. In the Dropbox folder, double-click the ".dropbox.cache " folder. Note the ". " at the beginning of the folder name. This indicates that the folder is a hidden folder. Select all the folders and files in the .dropbox.cache folder, right click on it and select "Delete " (to permanently delete the files) or "Move to trash "(to move the NOTE: You can also delete files safely on Linux . " style = "max- height: 400px; max-width: 99%; "> If you moved files in the Recycle Bin, you can permanently delete the files by right-clicking on the item "Recycle Bin " under "My Computer " in the left p and select "Empty Recycle Bin " in the context menu. "style = " max- height: 400px; max-width: 99 %; "> Dropbox keeps deleted files on their servers for 30 days. Deleting cache files on your computer does not affect not deleted files that are stored on their servers. Files deleted from your Dropbox account can still be recovered within 30 days even if you have deleted the Dropbox cache folder on your computer.